- Identity Check: Which CHI This Sheet Covers
- The Format at a Glance
- Fees, Validity and Renewal Numbers
- The Eligibility Conflict to Resolve First
- The Seven Competency Areas in One Page
- Essays, Media and the Presentation Video
- What Is Not Publicly Verified
- One Short Scheduling Idea Tied to the Seven Areas
- Where the Credential Gets Used
- Quick Answers
- CHI here means Certified Heritage Interpreter from the National Association for Interpretation (NAI), not any other credential sharing the acronym.
- The route combines a 50-question multiple-choice literature review with four of six essays, two media examples and a thematic presentation video.
- Application costs USD 200 before the packet is delivered; renewal is 40 CE hours and USD 100 every four years.
- NAI's webpage recommends four years/8000 hours, but a linked form calls 8000 hours required, so get NAI's decision in writing.
Identity Check: Which CHI This Sheet Covers
Several unrelated credentials abbreviate to "CHI." This cheat sheet covers only the Certified Heritage Interpreter, offered through the National Association for Interpretation. If you are new to the term, the overview pages What Is CHI? and What Does CHI Stand For? cover the naming, and What Is CHI Certification? covers how the credential works. NAI also runs other interpretive credentials with similar-sounding names. Everything below applies to the Certified Heritage Interpreter route only, so do not mix in details from a neighboring certification.
The Format at a Glance
The CHI is not a single sitting at a testing center. It is a professional peer-review and application process. No external testing-center provider has been verified for it. The public description lists these components:
| Component | What the public description says |
|---|---|
| Literature review | 50 multiple-choice questions |
| Essays | Four of six essay prompts, each no more than 500 words |
| Interpretive media | Two examples of self-created, non-personal interpretive media |
| Presentation | A thematic presentation video of 20 to 30 minutes |
| Completion window | The program record lists one year (this is a completion window, not seat time) |
Two cautions belong on any honest one-pager. First, the one-year completion window and the 20-30 minute presentation length are not the timed duration of the literature review. The timed literature-review duration is unverified. Second, the split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed. A practice question bank, such as the one at our main practice test site, supports the knowledge side only. It cannot stand in for the essays, the media examples or the presentation video.
Fees, Validity and Renewal Numbers
These are the only dollar and hour figures confirmed for the credential:
- Application: USD 200, paid before the application packet is delivered. No separate member versus non-member application fee is published.
- Validity: four years.
- Standard renewal: 40 continuing-education hours and USD 100.
- Late reinstatement (six months to two years late): USD 300 and 60 CE hours.
- More than two years late: reapplication and review.
For a fuller breakdown of how these fit into a total budget, see CHI Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown. The cheat-sheet takeaway is simple: renew on time. The late path costs three times the standard fee and 50 percent more CE hours, and waiting past two years sends you back through the application and review process.
The Eligibility Conflict to Resolve First
This is the single most important detail on the sheet, because the official sources do not fully agree.
- The current NAI webpage describes four years and 8000 hours of experience as recommended and accepts an experience or academic resume.
- A linked eligibility form, which is undated, states 8000 hours as required.
Until NAI clarifies, treat the stricter reading as the safe planning assumption and ask NAI directly for a decision before you pay the application fee. Other verified points: experience verification or self-employment documentation applies, and no mandatory degree, prior CIG, or in-person training-hour total has been verified as a requirement. Do not assume a degree is needed, and do not assume another NAI credential is a prerequisite. The public route is also undated, and the legacy handbook link redirects to the NAI homepage, so older handbook-based advice may be out of date. Our CHI Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify article walks through documentation in more detail.
The Seven Competency Areas in One Page
The current NAI page lists seven advanced knowledge, skills and abilities. They are unweighted preparation categories, not an official weighted blueprint, and they are not verified as an exhaustive map of the literature-review questions. The largest domain is unknown. Use them to organize preparation, never to predict question counts. For deeper coverage of each, read CHI Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 7 Content Areas.
1. The history of the interpretive profession
Know how the field developed and the figures and movements associated with it.
- Be able to place major contributors and milestones in sequence
- Understand how the profession's purpose has been framed over time
2. The principles of interpretation
Expect to apply the foundational ideas of the field rather than merely recite them.
- Distinguish interpretation from simple information delivery
- Connect principles to a real site, audience and message
3. Current literature in the interpretive field
The literature review is named for this area, so familiarity with contemporary writing matters. No complete official reading list is published, so build breadth rather than memorizing one title.
- Read widely across current interpretive theory and practice
- Track the ideas that recur across authors
4. Developing and delivering thematic interpretive programs
This area connects directly to the thematic presentation video, so treat it as both knowledge and performance.
- Know how a theme differs from a topic
- Plan audience-centered programs from theme to delivery
5. Writing measurable objectives
Be ready to write and evaluate objectives that can actually be assessed.
- Spot vague objectives and know how to tighten them
- Link objectives to what a visitor should know, feel or do
6. Developing and designing engaging interpretive media
This ties to the two self-created media examples you must submit.
- Understand what makes media interpretive rather than merely informational
- Keep submitted examples non-personal and self-created
7. Interpretive writing
Writing shows up in multiple places: essays, media text and your presentation script.
- Practice concise, theme-driven prose under a 500-word cap
- Write to a defined audience and purpose
Essays, Media and the Presentation Video
Because the CHI is a peer-review process, the non-multiple-choice pieces deserve as much attention as the 50 questions.
The essays
You answer four of six prompts, with a 500-word ceiling on each. The cap rewards disciplined writing: state your point, support it with a concrete interpretive example, and stop. Draft all the prompts you can access, then choose the four where your professional experience gives you the strongest examples.
The two media examples
These must be self-created, non-personal interpretive media. Choose pieces that clearly demonstrate a theme and a defined audience. Pair this work with the media and writing areas above, since the same principles judge both.
The thematic presentation video
The video runs 20 to 30 minutes. Plan the arc of the presentation around a single clear theme, and rehearse until the delivery fits comfortably inside the window. Remember that this length is a performance requirement, not the literature-review time limit.
Key Takeaway
Do not let the multiple-choice portion consume all your attention. The essays, media and video are where the peer-review element lives, and a question bank covers none of them. Start collecting candidate media pieces and presentation ideas early.
What Is Not Publicly Verified
A trustworthy cheat sheet states its gaps. These items could not be confirmed from public official sources reviewed in September 2026, so check them with NAI before planning around them:
- Numerical passing thresholds, component minimums and component weights
- The pass rate (it is not publicly disclosed)
- The timed length of the literature review
- Whether the literature review is open-book, whether calculators apply, and what proctoring rules exist
- Resubmission rules for components that are not accepted
- Any CHI-specific salary premium
Because of these gaps, be cautious with articles that quote exact cut scores or percentages. Our pages on the CHI passing score and the CHI pass rate explain what can and cannot be said. For a realistic view of workload without invented numbers, see How Hard Is the CHI Exam?
One Short Scheduling Idea Tied to the Seven Areas
Since the seven areas are unweighted, spread effort by dependency rather than by guessed weight. This is a sequencing suggestion, not an official plan:
Foundations
- History of the profession and principles of interpretation, because later areas build on them
- Start reading current literature steadily
Program and objective work
- Thematic programs and measurable objectives, drafting practice essays alongside
Production and review
- Media design, interpretive writing, presentation rehearsal, then a final pass through the multiple-choice material
For a full walkthrough, see the CHI Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt.
Where the Credential Gets Used
Certified Heritage Interpreter work sits in the heritage and interpretation sector: parks, historic sites, museums, nature centers and similar visitor-facing organizations. No CHI-specific salary premium has been verified, so approach income claims carefully. If you are weighing the investment, the CHI salary guide and the CHI ROI analysis frame the decision around career value rather than invented figures, and CHI Jobs covers the kinds of roles where the credential is relevant. Many candidates also value the discipline of building a peer-reviewed portfolio, which can be useful in itself.
Quick Answers
The public description lists 50 multiple-choice questions. The scored versus unscored split and the timed duration are not publicly verified, so confirm details in the packet you receive after paying the application fee.
No testing-center provider has been verified. The route is a professional peer-review and application process that includes the literature review, four of six essays, two media examples and a 20-30 minute presentation video. Proctoring and open-book rules are unverified.
No mandatory degree, prior CIG or in-person training-hour total has been verified. Experience verification or self-employment documentation applies, and the experience requirement itself is the item with conflicting sources, so confirm it with NAI.
Application is USD 200 before packet delivery. The credential is valid for four years, and standard renewal is 40 CE hours and USD 100. Late reinstatement within six months to two years costs USD 300 and 60 CE hours.
That is unknown. The seven areas are unweighted preparation categories drawn from NAI's published knowledge, skills and abilities, not an official blueprint. Prepare across all of them, and use the practice test site to reinforce the knowledge side.